What is the FIFA Confederations Cup?

The FIFA Confederations Cup is a men’s national tournament that is held every four years, falling on the year before the FIFA World Cup.  The Confederations Cup takes place in the host country for the following World Cup.

There are eight teams that are eligible to play in the tournament. They are the winners of each of the six FIFA International Confederations Championships, the previous FIFA World Cup winner and the FIFA Confederations Cup host country. This tournament serves as great preparation for the World Cup that follows it.