What is the MLS?

The MLS is the Major League Soccer, which is the highest level of Men’s soccer in the United States and Canada.  The league consists of players from the U.S., Canada and from around the world.

For the 2009 season there are 15 teams, Chicago Fire, Colorado Rapids, Chivas USA, Columbus Crew, D.C. United, FC Dallas, Houston Dynamo, Kansas City Wizards, Los Angeles Galaxy, New York Red Bulls, New England Revolution, Real Salt Lake, San Jose Earthquakes, Toronto FC and in its inaugural season, Seattle Sounders FC. The league will also be expanding to Philadelphia in 2010 then Vancouver and Portland in 2011, with plans to expand to 20 teams in 2012.

The MLS was founded in 1993 and the first season was in 1996 with 10 teams. The seasons run from early spring to late fall with teams playing 30 regular season games each. Eight teams from the league compete in the post-season MLS Cup Playoffs, which culminate in MLS Cup.

For more information, visit the MLS Website.