What is the SuperLiga?

The SuperLiga is a professional competition between the top teams from Major League Soccer (MLS) and the Primera División of Mexico. The competition is one that is controlled by CONCACAF, U.S. Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol Asociación.

The format of the competition consists of a Group Stage and Knockout Rounds. The tournament has an invitational format, with four teams invited from both MLS and the Primera División.

Due to problems with too many games during the 2008 season, starting with SuperLiga 2009, teams cannot compete in both the CONCACAF Champions League and the SuperLiga. So the criteria for MLS teams has been amended to the top four teams not already qualified for the Champions League. For the Primera División, the champions of the last 4 semi-annual tournaments will earn positions to SuperLiga.

With the MLS announcement, the top two teams from the 2008 MLS season, the Columbus Crew and the Houston Dynamo, who have already qualified for the CONCACAF Champions League for 2009–10, are not eligible to participate in Superliga 2009.