What is the Peace Cup?

The Peace Cup is a men’s international club tournament organized by the Sunmoon Peace Football Foundation, which aspires to use the competition between clubs from several continents to promote world peace. The Foundation holds the Peace Cup and other various cup events in an effort to create world peace through the beautiful game of soccer.

The tournament has been held every two years in South Korea. But in 2009 it will be held in Spain for the first time. The Peace Cup has a format of eight clubs, divided into two groups of four teams each. The Peace Cup Organizing Committee has plans to increase the number of participating teams to 12.

In 2006, they started the Queen Peace Cup, the Peace Cup for women. The United States women have won both the 2006 and 2008 Queen Peace Cups, leaving Canada as the runner-up for both.  The next Queen Peace Cup will be held in 2010.